Classes you'd recommed?

HeyCori

Mod Emeritus
Mar 1, 2011
Visit site
Long story short I've always been interested in software development but for various reasons never jumped in. I want to learn about developing apps I'm just not sure where to start. Thought maybe I'd take a class or two to kind of get my feet wet. Are there any classes you think would be good for app development?

Reflexx

Dec 30, 2010
Visit site
How much do you know right now? Are you an absolute beginner?

Check this out.

C# Fundamentals: Development for Absolute Beginners | Channel 9

It's a video series that covers the basics of C#. If you're not at all familiar with programming concepts, then you might have to watch some of these videos more than once. But they're done really well.

After you get the basic concepts down, then you could move on to things specific for app development. But you want to lay down your foundation before trying to build that house!

And of course I say this all theoretically. I haven't built any apps myself. I just went through this course and will hopefully find the time to do more in the future.

HeyCori

Mod Emeritus
Mar 1, 2011
Visit site
Wow, thanks for the link. That's look extremely helpful. Yup, I'm an absolute beginner. I also rented the book "Sam's Teach Yourself Windows Phone 7 Game Programming." I'm going to search through that just to see if I can even grasp the concept.

wagedomain

Jan 17, 2012
Visit site
Personally I didn't get nearly as much value from my college courses as I did from real world experience. My advice would be to just start developing something. Anytime you get stuck, Google it, try it, see what works and what doesn't.

If you have NO knowledge of OOP (Object-oriented programming) you could benefit from a class, though. C# or even Java would be good places to start, C/C++ stay away from as a beginner.