Resolution changes and games

bhickenbottom

Jan 18, 2012
Visit site
http://www.windowscentral.com/windows-phone-8-os-builds-spotted-well-new-display-resolution

As a one-person Windows Phone game developer am I the only one who's cringing at the news of so many different resolutions?

I do a ridiculous amout of sprite work and have tons of assets drawn at 480x800. I was figuring they would pixel double. I can't imagine that any sprite-based game designed to run on a 480x800 display will look good scaled up or with black borders.

Not to mention having to support that many different resolutions in the future.

Stiv

Dec 19, 2011
Visit site
I think the option to allow manufacturers to use a higher resolution screen on Windows Phones will be really good for the Windows Phone platform, but I was really hoping they'd only introduce 1 new res.

Like you I'm a one-man dev team and I already spend way too much time on graphics. Supporting more than 1 or 2 resolution will definitely be a massive drain on my already limited spare time. Knowing this is on the horizon means I might need to start looking at switching over to vector based graphics.

bhickenbottom

Jan 18, 2012
Visit site
I think the option to allow manufacturers to use a higher resolution screen on Windows Phones will be really good for the Windows Phone platform, but I was really hoping they'd only introduce 1 new res.

Like you I'm a one-man dev team and I already spend way too much time on graphics. Supporting more than 1 or 2 resolution will definitely be a massive drain on my already limited spare time. Knowing this is on the horizon means I might need to start looking at switching over to vector based graphics.
I was hoping they'd pixel double like Apple did with the iPhone, then it would scale up nicely on newer phones (it would look pixelated, but at least it wouldn't look muddy, and you wouldn't need to deal with different aspect rations). What Apple did was such an elegant solution.