Start developing games

DBDev

Jan 13, 2012
Visit site
Hi!

Where can i learn to develop games for Windows Phone? A free ebook or a tutorial on the web would be great. videos is also possible but i would rather read something.

I am a beginner but i can some C# but i have never made a game.

sinime

Retired Moderator
Sep 13, 2011
Visit site
I'll have to check out those links later. I'm currently working on an app, in spare time, but plan to look into coding a game afterwards.

Sent from my Lumia 900 using Board Express

Panathas

Oct 4, 2012
Visit site

I wanted to try this tutorial but everytime I click on the Shooter.sln file it terminates the import with the exception that the file ShooterContent.contentproj file can not be opened because the project type (.contentproj) is not supported by this version. WTF? I use Visual Studio Express 2010, that should be correct or not?
Is it a Windows 8 problem (I am using Win8)?

Edit:
Re-installed the tools and works now :/ Don't know why, but ...

Last edited:

mckhendry

Oct 18, 2012
Visit site
Chris Williams and George Clingerman are XNA MVPs and co-authored a book: Professional Windows Phone 7 Game Development. This book does have "Professional" in the title, but it simple enough for entry-level developers to get started with (caveat, you will build 4 games in the course of the book).

This book was written for WP7, not WP7.5. However, if you're looking at just breaking into game development for WP then this is the place I recommend everyone should start. Because the book is older you should be able to get it on the cheap (e.g. $.97 used on Amazon).