iOS Developer moving to WP8 - Not easy, Microsoft make it so difficult...I may give in...

a18041967

Nov 21, 2012
Visit site
:angry:So I'm a iOS developer and I'm keen to prototype and possibly move to WP8 but it just seems problem after problem and I haven't written a line of code yet. So here's what I've experienced so far....

* I have a Macbook Pro (i7) and set about installing Windows 8 & Visual Studio 2012 as a virtual machine, all was looking good. Then when I attempted to run a sample app suddenly discovered that the WP8 emulator runs as a another virtual machine. It's not a good idea to run VM's within VM's and initially this didn't work until I upgraded VMWare Fusion to v5 so an additional ?50.

* Because of the problems with the emulator I then went and purchased a Nokia Lumia 920, all excited and ready to go, but then I hit the problem that the device needs registering before it can be used. Having researched this further I then discover that to register a device you need a developer account, which costs $99 the $8 option is no longer available.

So for existing Apple developers who are not prepared to buy new laptops or desktops there appears to be no way to test apps that are developed without further expenditure even after spending ?500 on a WP8 device. I'm really hoping I've missing something here' but it's not looking good, as devices have only just become available way has the discounted developer account been removed?

a18041967

Nov 21, 2012
Visit site
Yes and no, like Microsoft, Apple also charges $99 for the privilege of using and testing on physical devices (so we have already invested ?500 in hardware), but a least the Apple simulators are integrated into the development IDE and do not use overly complex virtual machine technology.

mrgermy

Mar 28, 2012
Visit site
You said you tried to install Windows in a virtual environment. Have you thought about using Bootcamp rather than running virtual?

a18041967

Nov 21, 2012
Visit site