WP8 graphical IDE?

GraemeT

Jan 7, 2013
Visit site
Hi all,

Firstly, let me hold my hand up and say that I'm not a WP8 developer, so I'm an imposter here, I admit. However, this seemed the best place to put this post, so I'll take a punt. Like a few folk here, it would seem, I have in the back of my mind dabbling in playing with developing WP8 apps, not for reward, just for fun on my own phone. Sideloading, I think I saw it called in an earlier thread. I'm not a programmer by trade, but I do have eight years automatic-test training and development experience in LabVIEW. I was wondering if there is a remotely similar IDE for WP8? Other than HP BASIC years ago, I have no text-based programming skills. That with the fact that I don't have a lot of free time would preclude me from learning C# or C++, I suspect.

Regards.

PeytonCasp

Nov 3, 2012
Visit site
Sadly, a graphical IDE for Windows Phone does not exist that I know of.

Visual Studio happens to be semi Graphical in the sense that it lets you drag and drop the UI for the phone. However the code that lies behind the scenes still has to be typed. C# is a fairly comprehensive language to learn and would be a good skill to have. If you have used LabVIEW then chances are you understand the basic logic flow of programming so all that would be left would be adding the syntax to those skills.

GraemeT

Jan 7, 2013
Visit site
Guys,

I appreciate your responses. Thank you. I'll check out Visual Studio. I've heard of it, but know nothing about it. From what you say it vaguely reminds me of MS Access that I used to do a lot of years ago. Drag and drop buttons, boxes and stuff, then write your code behind that object.

I always found the basics of programming not too bad, it was the syntax that I found to be the tricky bit. You know, a missed bracket or semicolon here or there. Maybe I'll find out again!