Developing for WP8/W8/Xbox ?'s

MercenaryOne

Feb 8, 2013
Visit site
Not sure if this is in the right forum or not, but here it is some background info before I get started.
I am currently in my first semester going for my AAS in computer programming, after completion I will be doing my AAS in game design. About 15-20 years ago I programmed in Basic and dabbled in C++ a little bit. I have done HTML4 and below a while ago. I am currently taking HTML5/CSS right now and have recently worked with C#. I am an illustrator of mostly physical mediums(pencil/pastel) but have tried the digital and was mediocre at it. I have a complete storyboard for an RPG game, I am currently working on a turn based strategyRPG storyboard, and have plans on making a side scrolling RPG(think streets of rage with RPG elements). So my questions are:

1) What is the best programming language for cross platform of WP8/W8/Xbox?
2) What are the best digital art programs to use? I currently have PS6 and Illustrator7(I know old school hunh?)
3) I know nothing about music, how does one go about composing music for a game? Same with sound effects?
4) Is the 16bit gfx trend catching on to newer generations of gamers, or is it just a novelty? Better to invest in a 3d engine?
5) What engine do you developers for the above platforms use?
6) What engine is the best for the above platforms and game styles?
7) Is developing apps/games like art? Where you finish a piece and you just resent it because its not as perfect as you want and just scrap it, or because it can be modified easily you just work with it until you get it right?
8) Is it feasible to complete such a feat as a single person in his own free time?
9) For those of you that have made free apps, what is the overhead cost and how did you recoup that loss?(Software not time)
10) Any input you have to share or advice to better prep me for jumping into the market?