Mobile Application Development - Choosing a device

msalmank

Jan 4, 2013
Visit site
Hello to all the developers out there! I'm a Software Engineer by profession and have recently started studying/working on WP8 development. Obviously, starting on WP8 development means that I need to get a MS Dev account (already done!) as well as possibly a Windows Phone device to test out the application on physically. I have actually used Windows Phone in the past (yes, Windows Mobile too, but here I'm referring to WP7-WP7.8) when I bought and used the HTC Mozart for over a year and a half, so I'm already familiar with the basics and most of everything. And based off of my observations from the original purchase (of WP7), any decent specs on a device should be good enough for a great experience with Windows Phone.

I'm currently using an iPhone 5 which I switched to earlier this year. Initially I had planned to sell that off and get a top Windows Phone but in the end changed that plan as I will also be targeting iOS development down the line (especially at work) and want to keep that as my primary/secondary device. And though I don't have top-dollars to pay for a brand new Lumia 920 or a HTC 8x, I can get one at a much reduced price for a slightly used device.

The HTC 8X is costing me around $240-280 and the Lumia 920 is costing me around $340-360. Though from what I've read and heard, these two devices being the top ones out there right now (No Lumia 925 here yet plus really slim chances of getting that cheap so early in the game), I'm also considering HTC 8S + Nokia Lumia 820. Both of which I am getting either brand new or slightly used but with warranty at the same price as the used 8X and L920.