Potential app revenue better for WP8 than Android?

cohoman

Nov 10, 2010
Visit site
I have a questions for Android (or iOS) developers who have decided to port their apps to the WP8 platform.

I've been writing mobile apps for over 10 years, starting with the Pocket PC devices, going to Windows Mobile, Palm WebOS, and now Android OS. I've made some pretty good money doing so, but I'm at a crossroads now. I have what I consider a very polished app for Android, but my sales are virtually non-existent. There could be lots of reasons for this, but I'm concluding that the majority of Android users want free apps and won't buy paid apps.

I did dabble in WP7 app development early on, but at that time it seemed very few people owned WP7 phones. So, I didn't pursue it further. However, with the release of WP8.1 and the positive reviews I think WPs may be catching on, especially in the enterprise business community. As such, I'm guessing that WP owners are more likely to spend $1-4 for a good app over what Android users might spend.

So, I'm asking all Android developers who have gone down this path their opinions based on what they have personally experienced. Are you seeing more sales for Windows Phone over Android? Is it really worth my time and expense to port my apps over to the WP8 platform?

Thanks for your comments.

cohoman

unstoppablekem

Sep 23, 2011
Visit site
I thought it's difficult to port an android app as it is Java, and that ios apps are easier, but I'm sure there is a way. If you let us know what your app is, it might be worth to port it.

cohoman

Nov 10, 2010
Visit site
What is the app you are considering to port?
It's a password manager app that I originally developed for the Palm WebOS. When I switched from a Palm phone to Android, I couldn't find a similar Android app to meet my needs to I ported the WebOS version over.

cohoman

Nov 10, 2010
Visit site