Ridemyscooter86

Dec 20, 2011
Visit site
This might not be the right forum to answer this question:
So I'm an electrical engineering major in college right now and I'm trying to learn more languages seeing as all they really teach us in my undergrad courses is c and assembly. Both are useful to us because we will mostly be doing low level programming but I want to learn more high level languages. I was learning c# for a little bit as I get a MS developers license and visual studio pro for free because I'm a student. The thing is that I feel that Java will be better to learn first before c# because it seems a little bit more marketable than c#. what do you guys think, should I jut continue doing c# on the side or should I take a break, learn Java, then c#? What other languages would you suggest I learn as well?

DBDev

Jan 13, 2012
Visit site
I have never tried java, but one big advantage with C# is that you can use that to develop for Windows Phone and Windows Store :wink:

xandros9

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
My CS class taught Java, so I have some basic Java under my belt.

But I'm trying to learn C# as of now because the VMs Java is often seen in isn't very attractive to me.
Also, it means I can program for WP and Windows.

On the other hand, Java is Android's language IIRC.

what I noticed is that they're pretty similar on the basic level.

Catholic Tech Geek

Feb 2, 2012
Visit site