Does Microsoft have a similar SDK?

jleebiker

Dec 11, 2011
Visit site
Google eyes Android for wearables: A look at the challenges | ZDNet

I'm not an expert dev by any stretch of the imagination. I've got the tools, but for the life of me, haven't had the time to explore all the features. My concern is that with the release of this SDK, isn't it going to make it easier for people to create Droid based apps for wearable tech? That's the hot thing right now and it seems Google has a plan and is putting efforts towards capitalizing on what is hot. Does Microsoft have something similar? Thanks.

badplanet

Oct 28, 2013
Visit site
Right now MS has the .net micro framework that runs on a compact version of Windows CE. The Agent smart watch is supposed to use it but we do not know when that will be launched.

So far MS does not provide any support for any smart watch and in fact makes it about impossible to use one with WP8. I know because I wrote the first and second WP8 apps for the Pebble smart watch. MS manages to block devs at every corner from providing apps that could make WP8 a viable platform for smart watches or other wearable tech. You would think they might have seen something in the tech news about wearable tech like the Pebble, Samsung Gear or Google Glasses. But nothing, nada, no where. Silence.....

Need the app to run in the background to send notifications to a smart watch. You can't do that!
Need to intercept caller-id info to send to a smart watch. You can't do that!
Need to intercept SMS to send to a smart watch. You can't do that!
Need to intercept email info to send to a smart watch. You can't do that!
And many, many more...

Can't let a user be insecure like that IOS and Android mess. Very frustrating...

Anyway maybe, just maybe, WP8.1 will open the door a crack and offer devs some way to do some of these things. Otherwise we will be watching the party from our safe secure shelter.

tgp

Dec 1, 2012
Visit site