Getting started, have some questions.

Phrozty

Dec 3, 2011
Visit site
Background:
I've been a professional developer for at least 8 years, love windows phone, and decided to give it a try. I've been a MS Dynamics CRM developer for the past few years, so I'm fairly used to dealing with an SDK/API with certain restrictions. I am NOT very well versed in WCF or most graphic/UI type of stuff. Most of what I did at my old company was boring business form work, and CRM requires very little UI work. I used to be quite good with CSS, but I've been out of that for quite awhile as well. So overall, my graphic side is a bit lacking.

Questions:
Right off the bat, I was wondering which type of license I should go for. I do not currently have a business, and if my company chooses to do WP apps, I'm sure it will be with a company email/account, but I was wondering if I should set stuff up so that if I ever get big into WP development I would have them under a company name? Also, I see you can use tokens as part of the sign up process, and I would think there would be SOME way for me to get one since I've been a developer for MS products for so long, I'm a Microsoft partner (though through my company email address), and this would be a new account for me. Anyone have any tips on how I could get a hold of a token?

And finally, based on my background... where should I start my learning process? I have some certifications, but having been working in the industry for a number of years, I don't really feel the learning process for certs would prepare a person much for actual development.

Looking forward to any comments, positive or negative ;).

Catholic Tech Geek

Feb 2, 2012
Visit site