Cross-OS Development

FeedTheShark

Jan 2, 2013
Visit site
So after many years of saying "I have to start coding apps" I'm finally going to start coding apps. As background I'm a developer with 20+ years experience in building websites and programming in VB, asp, java-script, and some but less c#.net than is healthy these days. But when I look at how to create apps I'm getting confused & find it hard to know where to begin, because I need/want to develop for iOS, WP and begrudgingly Android.

I've looked at Xamarin (confused the hell out of me). I've looked at Channel9 videos, bit better, but really only Windows based and didn't get too far. Looks like I need a Mac for iOS dev (*eugh*). Looks like I need to use Java for Android. I need to improve my C#, don't really want to have to learn Java and C+ for iOS as well.

What do other developers who develop for all 3 do? Is Xamarin good enough or do you need to go native? Where do you recommend I begin? I have an app in mind that a friend wants me to build, but I really do have to have it working first on iOS (boooo!), and then do everything in my power to have it on WP seconds later.

Appreciate all advice, thanks.

LuvMeSomeWP

Apr 4, 2014
Visit site
My friend just finished and released a cross-platform game on iOS and Android using the Corona SDK.

And after many many months after it was first announced, Corona today finally released WP8 support. I haven't used it myself, so I can't speak as to how well this all works, but I believe you write in LUA script, and Corona will translate and compile native applications for the specific platforms.

Corona appears to be geared towards 2D apps/games. There's a certain threshold where it's free to use and sell, and after that point, you must pay?

Introducing Corona Support for Windows Phone 8 | Corona Labs

Mameless

Apr 4, 2014
Visit site