Q's about Windows Phone 8 App dev; Working through the Bob's, Clint's and Larry's tutorial

Stamper_wc

Feb 21, 2015
Visit site
Hi everyone!!

I just decided yesterday that I want to add some functionality to my new and first Windows Phone myself(got a Lumia 830, couldn't be happier!). Coming from a C and Python background, I am working/reading through the "Absolute Beginner Series For Windows Phone 8" to get a clear understanding of all the cool features which we can manipulate in Windows Phone. (Tutorial can be found at channel9 msdn , unfortunately I cannot write URL's yet) The reason I am writing here, is because I have some questions and I might get some more questions later on which I will also add in this first post. I am hoping somebody might be willing to (partially) answer them. It might be some of the questions are actually handled later on in the material so don't be afraid to tell me just that if you are familier with the material.

Thanks in advance!

Questions:

1. After reading section 3 on XAML, I was thinking if it might be possible to inherit one of the standard classes (like Textbox or Button) and add some common functionality that a lot of instance might share and then use th?t element in the XAML code. In other words, is it possible to add your own elements based on existing elements in XAML?