Question about app development for app gap

vEEP pEEP

Nov 1, 2014
Visit site
Hello,

I'm not an app developer so please excuse this probably ignorant question.

Why couldn't MS write the WP apps that are missing? Like for major banks or other most wanted apps?

Do the apps have to be written by the company specifically?

Thanks,

Mr. V

xandros9

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
Well, its technically possible but:

1. its taking on hard work. And seeing the state of W10M, the last thing they need is less resources going there.
2. it sets an odd, dangerous precedent
3. we all know how the MS Facebook app turned out. (not great)
4. Snapchat would put its foot down on it most likely, Google did in the past.

MetronomeStudio

Oct 17, 2015
Visit site
Hello there,

I'm going to share some interesting information here, at least in my region.

Microsoft kickstarted a program called AppFactory in which Microsoft partner with outsourcing companies to close the app gap in smaller regions before putting it in the US. I was an intern working in that program and we tried to port some of the most popular app in our regional Android markets.

Thing is, the program fell apart. We did all the right things, we get the original devs on board and everything, except for one single flaw make the AppGap still there:

Original Apps Dev simply doesn't care. They don't actively promote their Windows Store app. This is the same to US markets - how many times you see an ad banner that has Windows Store featured alongside AppStore and PlayStore despite you know there's a first party app?

And as their own users are losing interests, the efforts in making those banking and chat apps wane. Hence the persistent App Gap.

MetronomeStudio

Oct 17, 2015
Visit site