Hi all,

I am a Surface Pro and Lumia 920 user, though my family is all over the place, e.g. mom uses an iPad, dad uses a WP 7.x, etc.

I decided I was going to buy a Nexus 7 as I had really wanted a 7-8 inch tablet. It was a close call between it and the iPad mini, and I decided the iPad's advantages didn't scale up to the price difference. So, I got a Nexus 7, and immediately downloaded a truckload of apps, many unavailable in the Windows eco-sphere, e.g. Flipboard, Tumblr, Temple Run 2, Subway Surfers, Real Racing 3, etc. And even Google Now.

Now, I'd be lying if I said the Nexus 7 failed to impress, oh it impressed me quite a bit. I played a bit with the uTorrent client, the widget concept was quite nice, and finally having access to Flipboard (for me) was a boon. But after the first 3-4 hours getting it up to speed, I just never picked it up (besides reading Flipboard for 10 minutes).

I sat down and really tried to conjure up genuine usage scenarios (besides commuter reading) that my Surface Pro or Lumia couldn't do. Sure, the app gap was clearly apparent, but it wasn't enough to get me to use the Nexus 7 in a manner that justified spending $200 + tax on it. I even imagined a "what if" scenario whereby Android would have the latest Office 2013 apps, especially OneNote, but why would I need this 7 inch tablet when my phone could read it just fine?

In fact, I began missing a few of the important things that kept me afloat on Windows 8 and Phone! For example, I would connect my ear buds to the Nexus 7 only to find that I had no music. Turns out that I was deeply accustomed to Xbox Music on my other devices. Granted Android was/is pretty cool, but the power of eco-systems just took me over, the value-added proposition of Android (however great) fell through for me due to my investment in Microsoft.