Surface 2 vs Vivotab Smart

gamecreator08

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
I have been reading posts here for a while, and this is my first time posting a new thread here. Long story short, after using both an iPad and the HP Touchpad (and being somewhat dissatisfied by both), Windows 8/RT seems to be the best option for me when I type up documents, create images, and browse the web (frequently). The major dilemma is: which tablet, Surface 2 or Vivotab Smart, is the most ideal? I've grown quite fond of the Surface 2's design, with its bold and pristine edges. The Vivotab Smart...isn't quite as eye-catching, however it is light and feels solid in the hand, and its full-featured Windows 8 is definitely a plus. Both fit my budget, but my question is : Are there any serious drawbacks (not including the limitations of RT, but issues specific to these devices ex. speed, battery drain, etc.) to one of these tablets that would aid me in this decision?

--gamecreator08

Last edited:

Doctor Pork

Jul 20, 2013
Visit site
Be aware of that the Vivo tab smart is a last generation product with Clover trail and not Bay trail so unless you get it for a really good price, I would be a bit sceptical of buying a last gen product. Sure my clover trail tablet has been well worth the cost, but the next generation has more than double the CPU power and 6 times the GPU power on some benchmarks. This would likely eliminate some of the stuttering in the desktop. If you are looking at the Vivo tab smart, I think the next generation Transformer book T100 is a better choice.

Amazon.com: ASUS Transformer Book T100TA-C1-GR 10.1-Inch Convertible 2-in-1 Touchscreen Laptop (Gray): Computers & Accessories