I still don't get the purpose of tablets?

skstrials

Oct 5, 2013
Visit site
I'm a university student and I see a lot of tablets around me these days.

As for me, I have always had a full sized laptop (currently Dell Precision M4700). And it has always been portable and light enough for me.

One thing I do not get is that.

1) Tablets cost the same or sometimes even more than a ultrabook or a full sized laptop.
2) Since many laptops have become so thin and light these days, portability benefit between laptop and tablet is marginal
3) Processing power and longevity will always be better on a full sized laptop.

So what was your reasoning for picking up a tablet?

Mainly, I am partially open to trying a tablet, but I honestly do not get why I would need one when I have a capable laptop.
But I see so many people who bring both a laptop AND a tablet to school.

Of course, what other people me use do not really effect me, but I just notice the phones and computers around me since that's just what I am into.

Last edited:

Lendo

Jun 18, 2013
Visit site
If a laptop works for you stick with it. I like my Blackberry Playbook because I can use it as an ereader, or recipe book in the kitchen, or display blueprints for something I'm building. They've both got their own ups/downs ie. I wouldn't want to type a term paper or write a novel on a tablet LOL

Reflexx

Dec 30, 2010
Visit site
Being a Surface Pro owner, I do find it antiquated when I see people who have a tablet and laptop with them at all times.

greycounciller

Dec 31, 2012
Visit site
Though not a student, I bought a Nexus 7(2012) based on much of the hype around tablets.
Though it was useful to have, It just became a glorified games player, spending most of it's working days at home under my bed. Sold it earlier this year.
To my dismay, I just won an iPad in a prize draw and find this to large and cumbersome for everyday use and really wonder what all the hype about them is.