Where are the Medical Apps??

Qaaf

Mar 26, 2012
Visit site
Hello everyone,

I hope this is the right place to pose this question, but it is actually more like an appeal to the developer community.

I am a medical professional and have been using WP for sometime, but have been very frustrated with the lack of of good medical Apps. Previously, I had Windows Mobile, which was doing the job well, but then switched to Android that had plenty of resources as well. I almost got an iPhone right before I stumbled on WP.

I understand the WP shares are minimal when compared to Apple/Android, but the community is definitely growing. I don't understand why there aren't many medical Apps or why there isn't much interest. I have searched and been searching Marketplace regularly hoping for a 'miracle', but to no avail.

There are few Apps, MPR (Montly Presribing Refrence) is one to name, but it is very limited in what it offers (Only Drugs). There are few other ones, but they too are very limited.

Attempts have been made to contact Epocrates, Skyscape and few others, but the response has been very mute.

I am writing this in hope to bring this 'crisis' to someone's attention. Please help us help you.

Thanks.

kenzibit

Jan 10, 2012
Visit site
YES...this is something I also noticed and was planning to post it here. Seriously there are not a lot of Science/Medical apps on Windows Phone as compared to the iOS platform....something which should be lookded at.

shlomo80

Aug 22, 2011
Visit site
Problem is, we've got the iOS juggernaut - and let's face it, no other phone has a versatile and reasonably consistent dock. OTG is not a substitute. I really never understood why only Dell took up PDMI - which appears to be a viable universal dock system.

Why bother when the iPhone does everything better for now ironically for professional applications? Better manageability, better connectivity and a huge ecosystem.