Switching platforms? | Thinking of leaving?...comment here!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Felbrigge Psalter

Apr 2, 2013
Visit site
Talk Me Out Of Switching To iPhone 6

Tomorrow morning I plan on going to the Apple store to finally turn to the dark side. I have been using Windows Phones for two years, first a Lumia 822 and then a 928. I loved the 928, and was thrilled with the Denim update--it really felt like Christmas morning. Then two things happened: I dropped the 928 and the screen shattered, and my work gave me an Apple Store gift card as a gratuity.

I love the WP interface, and don't really care that much about apps, but I've finally gotten tired of waving the WP flag when there seems to be so little love in return. I was just about to get a new 928 at Verizon, and then the next day they yanked it. I have an iPad (another gift from work), and it's okay but the UI seems like a sad Soviet-era platform next to WP. I use it mainly for apps that I can't get on WP.

My main priority is music. I loved Zune, still use my HD, and I keep thinking that in the next iteration MS will get Xbox Music right, but I'm always disappointed. Obviously, not a fan of iTunes, but curious to see if it's now any worse than Xbox Music.

I'm concerned that if I stick with WP the support will continue to dwindle and eventually it will go the way of Blackberry, or become Android plus. Should I stop kidding myself that WP someday will become a robust environment with a killer Zune-like music app? Or should I continue to be patient and not lock myself into Apple's unimaginative but well-supported ecosystem?

Thanks!

realwarder

Dec 31, 2012
Visit site
Re: Talk Me Out Of Switching To iPhone 6

The grass is always greener on the other side. This year should be more exciting than any iOS 8.2 update with Windows 10 coming , but the iPhone 6 is a great phone. If you switch, enjoy, if not, enjoy. Only you know what is best and that can change monthly for some.

matt john2