Camera comparision between Lumia 920 and iPhone 5

TK2011

Nov 21, 2012
Visit site
I am not a professional photographer therefore was not familier with this concept

No problem. I thought it was a great shot (he created shallow DOF to isolate the flower nicely against the beach background) and found it ironic that you thought the blurry background was a con!

fancy0479

Nov 19, 2012
Visit site
1. Auto WB works great for me indoor and out. What kind of lighting is giving you trouble?

2. All kinds of cameras underexpose snow scenes and overexposure black curtains quite often in auto mode. That's what EV control is for.

3. Is your lens clean? This post shows dirty vs clean lens comparison:
http://forums.windowscentral.com/nokia-lumia-920/200218-43.htm#post1847709

1. Please see the pictures. The 1st one is what AUTO gave me. The 2nd one is closer to what I actually saw (I got this one after manually set WB to fluorescent).
WP_20121228_004.jpg
WP_20121228_005.jpg

2. I didn't talk about snow scenes. What I meant is 920 in AUTO mode will produce night photos way too brighter than it actually is, even like shot in daylight.

3. Yes, it's clean.

JonesCK1

Nov 15, 2012
Visit site
In addition to better sharpness and detail, the iPhone 5's camera also has a *much* faster shutter due to continuous auto-focus in picture mode. What this means is the photo is taken almost at the same instant your finger touches the shutter icon as opposed to the "touch to focus" system the 920 employs which adds a second or so of focus time from when you touch the screen, which is less forgiving if you don't have steady hands.

The Lumia 920 has a 2 stage shutter button like professional DSLR cameras. Try pressing the shutter half way which puts the camera on continuous focus and when you're ready to take the picture, press it all the way, that should help you capture just the right moment immediately without having to wait for the focus and lose your chance ;-)

socialcarpet

Banned