A question on pricing

R-Squared

Feb 20, 2012
Visit site
Hey guys, I could use your help. I'm developing a Windows Phone exclusive game (I'll have more info on that in another post) It's a 2D Platformer that I've been working on for almost 2 years. I think it's shaping up quite nicely. The problem is, now I'm at the point where I need to figure out how to monetize this thing. I have a bunch of Ideas and I'd love to hear what you guys think.

Option 1: PAID (with free trial) - This was my first thought. The trial would give you access to the first 5 levels (there are 25 in all) Then there would be a cut scene, with a cliff hanger (that is hopefully interesting enough to drive the purchase how) The normal price would be $1.99 but the initial launch price would be .99c (Limited Time type of deal) Thinking of possibly adding ads to the trail but not too sure (don't want to annoy players) The problem here is visibility. I've been seeing a lot of metrics that show (many) people won't even look at your app (let alone download it if it's not in the free section)

Option 2: FREEMIUM (Option 1) - The game would be totally free, but the special power UPS would be in app purchases of .99c There are 5 in all. Once you purchase them they'll start showing up in the game. (eg. Fire power up allows the player to melt walls made of ice and access secret parts of a level) There would definitely be ads in this model but they could be removed with a .99c in app purchase. If you'd like all the power UPS and the ads removed you could simply pay $2.99