Love Windows Phone But Perhaps Heading To Android...Anyone Else?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mad Cabbie

Retired Ambassador
Jun 9, 2015
Visit site
I was a rom dev for android, and I gave up with it in the end. Yes, it has 'more' apps, most of which are duplicates, yes it has nice fashion items from Samdung et al, but, whilst the devices are nice and fashionable, the OS is becoming more 'clunky'. Google rely on 3rd party OEM's to provide the hardware, apart from the nexus which runs vanilla android. Droid has issues with memory bleed, use of hardware and a UI that appears to have been designed by 3yr olds with Crayons. When you buy an OEM device, such as samdung, you end up with a shed load of bloat, which you can remove by rooting, BUT, if you have Knox built in to your device, rooting will 'blow' the fuse which is part of the SOC, and then try getting warranty work done. HTC continue to bootlock, and have s-off. Admittedly, rooting is one of the better reasons for droid, but having done that, those who use banking apps or PPV apps will be out of luck. Also, OEM's on droid tend to drop support rapidly, especially when a new shiny fashion item arrives.

I came to WP by accident. I broke one of my note 3's, and needed a phone whilst I was on the road. Between fares, I shot into a supermarket and grabbed what I thought was a cheap Samsung, for the same money I could have something called a WP 535. I NEVER bothered replacing the note. Everything was so much straightforward and easy to use. I discovered Cortana and that was it. Now have 930, 1320 and 640xl. My whole house is windowed up. My teenage son has never complained about apps. He uses his tablet for gaming.

At the end of the day, it's personal choice. At least MSFT are offering W10M to pretty much all devices, unlike some. I know people with galaxies that are still stuck on 4.4.2!! How poor was that one!!!! No hint of an upgrade, even though 2 of them are 4g phones a year old!!