09-04-2017 11:23 AM
162 12345 ...
tools
    Switching to Android not only means leaving behind everything I love about the OS, but everything I love about the apps I use, from Chronos Calendar to Loco Music to Microsoft Mojang. I don't want to abandon the apps I've grown to love since 2012 and have to hunt for replacements all over again.

Just realised I didn't actually mention the phone at all. That's where we're at really; the hardware is fairly irrelevant at this plateau of the smartphone market. If I was going to switch to Android I'd have done it already. The S8 changes little.
    TgeekB, RumoredNow and fatclue_98 like this.
    04-07-2017 04:05 PM
    I'm an IT professional. I have 75 Windows Phones deployed to staff. My wife and I have been Windows Phone users since the Samsung Focus. I have kept all of our old Windows Phones (920/640/830), which still work, and we currently have 950's We'll stop using Windows Phones when all of those phones bite the dust.

The integration of Windows Phone with my Surface, and both my work and home PCs is something I don't want to give up. And even outside of the ecosystem, the phones just do what we need them to do, The app gap has never really been an issue for us. IE and Edge have been an occasional PITA, but everything else is fine for the most part.

I have used and supported Android and iPhone in the past, and I don't look forward to having to go back to that. Since I switched our company to Windows Phones, I don't ever really have to work on phones anymore. With the other two platforms, I had someone in my office every single week with a phone problem.

All Windows Phone needs is for its creator to support it, listen to its fans, and let us go into the world and show other what it can do. Given the common kernel and C-Shell, how costly could it really be to continue to support it? MS Took away Media Center, which I loved, and now they seem disinterested and supporting another product I love.
    04-07-2017 04:08 PM