Windows phone is done. What's the next daily driver?

• Thread starter Windows Central Question
  • Start date
W

Windows Central Question

Even though windows phone will continue to be usable for a while after these latest announcements, the option of switching to a new phone has never been more realistic. What would your next daily driver phone be? What phone do you think is closest to Microsoft's products/requires the least change to get up and running?

thepragmaticdev

Aug 7, 2017
Visit site
As a UWP dev, I'm still publishing apps on Windows mobile. I'll stop when it dies, and Microsoft stops updating. A few devs and I are sticking with the platform. We want enthusiast to tell us what apps they want to see.

Ryujingt3

Nov 13, 2013
Visit site
As a UWP dev, I'm still publishing apps on Windows mobile. I'll stop when it dies, and Microsoft stops updating. A few devs and I are sticking with the platform. We want enthusiast to tell us what apps they want to see.

As long as BookViser, Freda and my banking app remain on the platform I have no reason to go anywhere. I would however like to see a Kayako Helpdesk app (the official one was retired), and a Zoho CRM app (no support for WP) and an UpWork app as well. All of that would be great for my work.

I doubt it will ever happen though.

MarineDawg

Nov 15, 2012
Visit site
To be honest I think I would still be using the Samsung SCH-i760 running WinMo 6.5 if the phone didn't brick itself. Heck I would be still be on WinPho if the Icon didn't up and do the same thing. I switched to the Galaxy S8+. It is okay and there are things I definitely miss. The bonus here is the Gear Fit Pro2. This is what makes the phone a hell of a lot more tolerable. Yeah there are more apps to chose from and install but there aren't many that I didn't already use/have outside of Amazon music and some financial apps.

aximtreo

Jul 14, 2008
Visit site