Any CopperheadOS users here?

anguilla1980

May 1, 2008
Visit site
After using exclusively Windows mobile for 15 years now I'm finally mentally ready for a change I think. I have never used an iOS or Android device before tho. I'm very serious about security and privacy nowadays and I've narrowed it down to CopperheadOS (Android) on a Pixel 2 XL for this reason. A couple years ago I even left Windows as my desktop/laptop OS in favor of Qubes OS (Linux), which I freakin LOVE btw.

My question is, has anyone here made the switch from a Windows mobile to CopperheadOS? What pros and cons were there for you?

I can find comparisons, sorta, on going from Windows > Android and also from Android > CopperheadOS, but since I've never used Android personally, I'm wondering what I would miss the most going from Windows to CopperheadOS specifically.

My 950 XL I've had since release is still fine, and I even keep a backup spare. I just want something more security/privacy focused. I mean, MAYBE if the new Windows Andromeda handset were dropping in the next 6 months I would try that first, but I feel like that's a year off at best. Plus lets face it, it will be as much of a mobile spy/tracking device as an iPhone and mainstream Android phone. Although I will say, that with my 950 XL, I do feel a fair sense of control over what apps I give access to my camera/location and I make an effort to opt out of everything I can.

Thanks!

xandros9

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
I think the chief concern for you is that Copperhead lacks Google Play Services stock, which rules out many, but not all Android apps. Be careful there.