Surface RT vs. Lenovo Ideapad Yoga 11

Goliemoi

Nov 2, 2012
Visit site
I have been considering purchasing a Windows RT device as a replacement for my aging windows 7 laptop. I am especially interested in an RT device because of their portability, simplistic nature, and above all, price. A windows RT device is also optimal for me because I only do a number of things on my laptop, such as browsing, Microsoft Office work, and using a number of light desktop applications that could be easily replaced with applications from the windows 8 store. Therefore, I don't think it makes much sense for me to bother purchasing a high power laptop running the full version of Windows 8. I should also mention that I am a student. I have narrowed hunt down to two Windows RT devices: The Microsoft Surface, and the Lenovo Ideapad Yoga 11.

I like the Surface because of its beautiful industrial design, decent display, touch covers, and all the extra touches that Microsoft put into the device to make it special and unique. However, my greatest concern is typing on the touch cover; specifically, I worry that typing on my lap will be a painful process. 95% of my work on my Laptop is done with it in my lap while sitting on the couch, rather then having it rested on a table. Therefore, if the device does not sit well in my lap, it is significantly less valuable to me.

Before you mention the Ideapad Yoga's price, you should know that I have family connections to Lenovo, which allows me to get the Yoga for the same price as the Microsoft Surface. I especially like the Yoga because of its interesting form factor, which greatly appeals to me. I also like that I can use it as a regular Laptop or a tablet. Lenovo also has a history of great keyboards and solid build quality. What I don't like about the Yoga is its heavier and thicker build; not a deal breaker, but certainly a little more annoying. I also don't know much about the Yoga 11, but worry about what I have heard about the Yoga 13.