Honest Question from Long Loyal WP User

fasciN8ing

May 29, 2014
Visit site
Background: PC's my whole life, currently Dell XPS One 27; Surface RT then Surface Pro 3 512; ready for this...Zune HD (and it was sweet, they should have made a phone like that!); Windows phone's since as soon as available on AT&T (Samsung Focus, Lumia 900, Lumia 920); my wife had had a Lumia 610(I think that's what it was) and Lumia 925. So clearly there is no lack of love for Microsoft products in our family. However, I find I'm at a crossroads. I've disliked Apple for as long as I can remember purely based on ridiculous prices and proprietary nature but I'm now considering switching to an iPhone for the following reasons:
- iPhone has all of the Microsoft services now and some that my WP doesn't even have yet
- I'm a photographer as a side business and Nikon doesn't make an app for WP not to mention every important photography app is not available or barely usable (smugmugs app is rough at best and has frequent problems, 500px just got pulled)
- I have no current upgrade options and my 920 is dying on me (AT&T website has said the 640XL is coming soon for nearly 3 months...... That is not "soon")
- I love the WP UI but the less functional and missing apps make the lack of a new phone option even more frustrating

I know MS just released their Ios and Android converters but I'm not convinced developers care yet.

I need some convincing as to why I should not go buy the product that I've loved to hate since forever (iPhone) but is just so damn convenient because it has everything except a sweet main screen ala WP. Thoughts? Looking for honest feedback even if you think I should switch. How long is too long to ignore the glaring issues WP faces?

Thanks in advance for your feedback and please don't think I'm attempting to troll as I would like nothing more than to keep with WP.

thatdennis

Dec 9, 2013
Visit site