So has BUILD basically outlined the future of Windows Phone?

anon(601415)

Jul 31, 2015
Visit site
I seriously believe that they are purposely keeping us in the dark and keeping it very low key because they want the WOW factor when they release some new next-generation device (Surface Phone anyone?). Obviously, I could be wrong, but that is my take on the situation.

Earlier this year, I purchased an Alcatel Idol 4S with Windows and it is a great phone (except the camera is disappointing after moving from a Lumia 1520). However, I'm a web developer and am adding new tools to my toolbox to better serve my clients -- many of those tools require (at least in terms of my plans) to have mobile apps to support them. Sadly, apps do not exist for these platforms on Windows Mobile.

So I bit the bullet and bought a Galaxy S8+. While I can say it is a great phone, at least when only compared with other Android phones, I already miss Windows Mobile. With Android, everything (EVERYTHING) is more complicated than it needs to be and a lot of stuff is buried or hard to find. In fact, I think it is over-saturated with "features". I have attempted to simplify some things and have had some success. But in the end, it's still Android.

Also, the Outlook app is a bit buggy -- when I receive a notification that I have a new email, I tap on the notification and it opens Outlook, then attempts to open the message. After about 30 seconds, it gives up and says it can't open it. The message doesn't even appear in the list of messages -- but wait -- if you just let it sit for about another minute, the message will magically appear in the list and then you can read it.

I'm also using the Arrow Launcher (by Microsoft) and it's pretty nice (for Android). I really wish they'd at least make it look like Windows Mobile, but I also understand why that's probably not a good idea.