Xbox Music- What is it anyway?

Doohickie

Jul 9, 2013
Visit site
I am brand new to smart phones, have never bought music online (okay, I've ordered music CDs from Amazon, but that's not the same thing, is it?) and I don't know anything about Xbox.

But I have called Xbox music on my phone. What is it? Do you need an account to do anything with it? Can you manage music that you bought as hard copies (CDs) with it? Just trying to figure out if I should even touch it.

iamtim

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
To put it simply, it's Microsoft's merger of iTunes, the iTunes Music Store and Google Music.

Basically, it's a player for MP3 files you've synced to your phone (or Surface/RT/8 tablet, or Windows 8 computer), it's a music store where you can buy songs and albums, and it's an app which plays music you've synced to the cloud from the cloud, so you don't have to cable-sync your MP3s.

You don't need a separate account, it works through your Microsoft account if you have one. If not, then yes, you need a Microsoft account. Seeing as you use Windows Phone, I'm assuming you have a Microsoft account.

Doohickie

Jul 9, 2013
Visit site
Thanks for the answer and this is gonna sound dumb, but I don't know anything about iTunes, the iTunes Music Store and Google Music. I still buy CDs.

Does the account cost anything?

I poked around a bit on the Wiki for Xbox Music and I found this:

Features
The service provides a variety of methods to access content: via Free Streaming, via subscription (Xbox Music Pass) and through an online store for permanent purchases.[5] The service offers 30 million tracks.

Free Streaming- Xbox Music offers ad-supported Free streaming on Windows 8 and Windows RT devices (computers, laptops, tablets) in 15 countries. There are no duration restrictions during the first 6 months of Free streaming. After that there will be a limit on the number of hours of free streaming allowed per month. (free)