Xbox Music - PlayTo

doadrian

Dec 10, 2012
Visit site
Hy guys. I was wondering if any of you could help me with the problem i have...
I just bought an Denon AVR X2000 receiver and tested it's network features. I have an xbox music subscrition and i wanted to play music from the app swiping left and bringing up the devices button. The receiver shows up there but when i try to play a song it says "that the file is protected and cannot be played on other devices".
Using the same method i was able to play a non protected music files... It is a shame it doesn't work with xbox music as it Works with apple airplay.
I really want this feature to work.
Am i doing something wrong? Is there any setting i should do?

Jose_Rey

Aug 11, 2012
Visit site
I doubt you can do that as I can't even do it on the XBOX 360 unless I stream directly from the console through XBOX MUSIC APP. I have about 5 DLNA capable devices and none of them can stream "protected content." Only regular MP3s work.

jhoff80

Apr 27, 2003
Visit site
It didn't ever work that way in Windows 8 for what you're trying to do.

There's two types of files Xbox Music plays. There's purchased (or imported) music, which is your unprotected MP3 content. And then there's stuff that is part of your subscription. That is all DRM-protected, whether it's streamed or downloaded/cached locally.

In Windows 8, there were two separate methods to play to a device. There was the Devices charm > Play To. This only ever worked with unprotected MP3 content. It decodes the audio stream on the sending device, and then passes that along directly to the receiver device via DLNA. Again, you can not send DRM content that way.