Battery tricks and tips for the HTC 8X

Coolknight1968

Nov 6, 2012
Visit site
I have been using two HTC 8X HSPA+ phones since November 2012.
Here are tricks and tips to improve battery life.

Note: If you have installed the Portico update along with the firmware update, your battery life is generally speaking at least doubled.
Following problems are solved with Portico: High standby drain in Flight mode, is reduced to 1% for 6 hours. It also seems to be the
case that Email will no longer try to sync in WLAN when it switches off in lock-screen. You can Enable WLAN on in lock-screen.
GPS power drain has been reduced significantly, you may leave it on. Steps 23 and 24 can be skipped if you have the update on a new phone
that came with Portico like ie. the HTC 8S.

*** First you need the following aps. ***
a) 'Battery Status' from "Tomaz Wisniewski", it seems to have the lowest battery drain of all battery apps.
b) ConnectivityShortcuts from "OU Dev." (FREE) (Setup to show 5 little tiles on start screen, WLAN, Bluetooth, Mobile Network, Location, Flight Mode) *(Thx to HG for finding this one, cause it is very good!)
c) Understand how to end "formerly opened apps". (Like this, keep back pushed, go into app, then use back until it exits that app, then that app is closed, repeat with all apps.)
c2) Skype: You may wish to close it that way... Note that in the Skype app, you click on your photo on the top right, there you can change your online status. Not sure if this also affects the app running in the background... so... take note until we get out of Beta Skype.

>1. LCD brightness, if you don't live in California and it is currently winter, you might want to set it to "Medium" and leave it there. Maximum brightness is a energy hog and uses a lot of power. If you use the automatic mode, it will go to maximum outside, when in fact you can read "Medium" well in your own shadow.