Just ordered the 8X - new to WIndows Phone

MikeLip

Apr 20, 2013
Visit site
I've never used Windows Phone before, but I was looking for something different from Android and iOS. I tried the new Blackberry Z10, being an old BB guy. But I found mine was suffering the spontaneous reboot problem and I didn't want to wait for Verizon to kick out an OS patch for it. The 8X looks like a beauty, and I like HTC from my Droid DNA. The DNA is a work of art and it looks like the 8X is too. The only thing making me hesitant is getting contacts in from Google - but if the Z10 could do that, I'm sure the 8X can. I just clicked the order button and now I'm sitting here like a kid on Christmas eve.

I had a good look at the app store and it looks like all my old friends are there - good turn by turn nav, Pandora, Kindle, a good selection of RPN calculators, and I'm hoping Netflix is there (I didn't check). I'm an electronic engineer so I will miss having the spice simulators but hey, I have them on my laptop and tablet. Having them on the phone is kind of ridiculous since the screen size makes drawing circuits a pain.

I was thinking about waiting for the 920, but patience isn't what I"m known for. Anyway, just dropped in to introduce myself and I will be reading this forum with great interest.

freestaterocker

Nov 19, 2011
Visit site
My Ativ S imported contacts and calendar from Google flawlessly, just like my HTC HD7 WP7 did before it. Netflix is available, though I haven't used it. Xbox Music pass has me flirting with my data cap every month as it is. (I don't have WiFi at home) The app has almost 250 ratings and sits at a solid 4/5 stars, though. For turn by turn navigation I highly recommend Nokia's HERE Drive. It's free, and supports fully offline navigation via downloadable maps.

Most importantly, let me be the first to say WELCOME TO WP!

gospvg

Apr 20, 2013
Visit site