New M8 Owner, bit disappointed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gramt Scorpio

Oct 15, 2014
Visit site
I'm new to Windows Phone but not to the forums. I have been viewing as a guest and finally decided to officially join after I purchased my first windows phone yesterday.

I've been following this platform as long as it has been in existence. My fiancee had one of the first Windows Phones, the HTC surround and has had many more like the focus, Radar, and mostly all the major lumia devices. At the time, I was curious but not enough to leave Android and now apple.

Until yesterday. My iPhone 5 glitched out on me and it was time for a new phone so I decided I'd give windows a try. Most apps I need are already here or there are wonderful alternatives, so I am not to bothered for missing a game or two. It'll mean I may become a bit more useful in my time besides playing candy crush lol. I go to the store to purchase the Icon and I immediately get pushed towards apple/android products by my customer service helper. I make it clear, I am there for the Icon. My Fiancee is a huge fan of Lumia and I am blown away by the quality of their hardware and excellent camera and I've heard spectacular things about Nokia products.

I discover that the Icon is no longer being sold. The store was out of stock and would not be getting anymore. He then tried to push me towards a few android devices, but I was dead set on Windows Phone. So i winded up leaving with the HTC One M8 for Windows.

Beautiful device, Excellent hardware, and I enjoyed the speakers. But about 6 hours later, I found myself frustrated. It is a bit hot to touch for various activities as simple as Skype Calls. I am not a fan of how it feels in my hand for long periods of time and this camera....makes me long for my iPhone 5.