Questions about the 530 and some other WPs.

tomseys

Oct 28, 2015
Visit site
Hi. I am new to smartphones. My main phone is a simple LG 450 flip phone which works great. I decided to get a smartphone recently just to have one for trips so this way I have internet and maps and maybe a camera. I bought a T mobile Lumia 530. Generally I'm not a big smartphone fan since I don't use social media at all and I don't like the larger size and weight of a smartphone versus flip phone.

So anyway I have the 530 and I like a lot of things about it including its small size, the way it feels in my hand, its speedy and smooth Win 8.1 OS, its very good call quality (everyone I let try it is shocked how good it is), and even the speaker and headphone sound quality is not bad. The camera is not that bad if there is a lot of light, like under the sun, but not terrific otherwise. I haven't really tried out the video recorder in proper light but indoors it was not that good. The phone did not come with the HERE drive app and I cannot download it anywhere (was told it was pulled) so that is disappointing. I really like the people app and how I can add contact info online and it automatically synchs with my phone.

The screen of the 530 seems ok if I'm looking at it head on but its hard to view outside and I think it bothers my eyes a little bit sometimes. I'm not sure if that is because I'm not used to looking at a smartphone screen and trying to read small text etc or if it is something unique to the screen or if it is because I keep it on high brightness all the time or if it has nothing to do with the phone at all. According to reviews most don't like the screen because it is not an IPS clear black etc. And some really hate the screen. I don't have any exp with this so to me it's not terrible but like I said sometimes my eyes area little achy after looking at it for a while.