Question for previous or current 1520 users?

cane prevost1

Jun 25, 2015
Visit site
I'm thinking of coming back to windows phone. I had a 520 a couple of years ago and really liked it. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed the windows OS. I've been using a 2013 Moto X for a couple of years since. I'm wanting a bigger screen as my vision isn't what it used to be. I'm looking at getting a 1520 or the 640 xl. I'm up to speed on all the spec differences and know what they mean. I'm reading a bit from users though that even though the 640 isn't nearly as good on paper it actually performs on par in most scenarios. Wondering what the experience is from 1520 users who now have 640 xl? Thanks!

Woodman1914

Dec 30, 2013
Visit site
I went from a 1520 to a 640XL, I can't recommend the 1520 because of the ghost tapping, it starts as a minor annoyance until it reaches the point of frustration. If you do anything processor intensive (games or "heavy" apps) maybe the tradeoff is worth it, since the processing power of the Snapdragon 800 w/2GB RAM is superior to the 400 w/1GB RAM, otherwise with light and basic apps, the 640XL actually seems more responsive and stable, maybe due to a combination of WP8.1 update 2 and a more modern firmware. You'll probably get better Windows 10 support on the 640XL too.

WW

Scienceguy Labs

Jun 13, 2012
Visit site