Lumia Journey - From Android to Lumia... and back!

outofmemory

Sep 3, 2015
Visit site
So, long time lurker, first time post. Need to get this off my chest as I've had a bit of a nightmare couple of weeks, largely in part due to the worlds unwillingness to accept Windows Phones. Let me start by saying I have been using windows phone since 2012 or so when my android device was stolen. So I started with a lumia 510 (i think!) and have had five or six different Lumias since, including the L800 which was one of the best IMO.

So why am I here? To rant. For the past year I have been using the Lumia 735. It was fast, great specs - brilliant camera. One of my favourite phones. Then it developed a fault. The earphone jack started cutting in/out when headphones plugged in. Rather annoying.

I am on contract, so I figured it could be repaired as I had only had the phone for less than a year. Sure enough, they attempted a repair, but it didn't fix the issue. So I sent it off again, but this time, was told would get a replacement.

Here's the problem. They had no Lumias to replace it with. Not at a similar spec, since the 735 has really good features for it's price point. I was offered lower spec lumias which I refused, due largely in part to I would still have to be paying for the 735 on contract. And then I was offered an android phone. :shocked:

Here me out, I almost thought to hell with this Windows Mobile malarkey and went straight back to android. But I knew how bad it could be. How slow it can be.

But I took the android. A Samsung A3. Has good specs. I died a little bit inside that day.

I still do not have the A3, as it is on the way to me. I was pretty annoyed that my contract repair centre could not offer a like-for-like Lumia swap.I still don't really understand why they could not have just sent me a new phone out, rather than a 'refurbished as new A3'. So what happened next?