I made 3D paper models of the 640 and XL.

Satorindley

Dec 6, 2014
Visit site
I've never used a 'phablet' before and I had free time and saw some blue paper. 20 minutes later I had made these little replicas of these two phones to see exactly how big they were. The centre of them are polystyrene with blue paper glued on each side. Not sure if you're interested but I had fun making them! It's interesting to know how big they'll be. :smile:

WIN_20150310_175422.JPGWIN_20150310_175402.JPGWIN_20150310_175323.JPGWIN_20150308_162902.JPG

What do you think?

Last edited:

hotphil

Nov 14, 2008
Visit site
I used to do that for iPods and the like - mainly to see how they'd fit in various pockets.
I didn't actually mark them up though - I like yours.

rhapdog

Retired Senior Ambassador
Aug 26, 2014
Visit site
Okay, I was inspired. I've been wondering ever since the 640XL came out whether or not it would be manageable in my hands. Thanks for posting this topic. It has literally made my day, and caused me to be as much of a time waster as apparently the OP was.

I decided to take on this project, except not quite to the extent the OP did with colored paper and wrap-around with the paper and such. Instead, I loaded up front and back images of the phone, scaled them to actual size, and printed. Then I cut them out along with some cardboard paper, glued together a couple of pieces of cardboard, and glued on the images for front and back. It actually came out to the correct size, including the thickness. This method may be easier for others to experiment with the size of it.