So has anyone actually tried putting their AT&T sim in a Cricket Lumia 640?

TLRtheory

Nov 16, 2013
Visit site
Speculation seems to be all over the place. Some saying that their phones are *possibly* locked to the SIM card they came with, some saying it will *probably* or *most likely* work since Cricket is owned by AT&T.

...but has anyone actually tried it yet so it can be confirmed to either work or not work?

I swung by the local Cricket place last night and even saw the Lumia 640 there... but they'd already closed by time I got there.

Last edited:

Bubblefat

May 16, 2015
Visit site
Re: So has anyone actually tried the Cricket Lumia 640 on AT&T US?

Got it, and it's great. The network speeds are roughly the same as the ATT GoPhone version of the 635. I'm a truck driver and I was told that I can expect about the same level, though since most carriers prioritize their data, I may get slower speeds at times but that's fine. As long as I get the same coverage map, I am good. Phone is great, and Cricket gave me a good deal. Charged me for the $40 plan, and gave me the $50 on trial.

Big Papa Smurf

Apr 26, 2014
Visit site

I think what's he's asking is if he got a 640 could he put his SIM card into. The general belief is no. Have to unlock it after 6 months. Untill someone proves otherwise...

AntiAB

Oct 6, 2014
Visit site

Nope. Tried putting my AT&T sim into a Cricket L635 and nothing.

TLRtheory

Nov 16, 2013
Visit site

Ah, my mistake. Title was a bit misleading.
I figured "Cricket Lumia 640" followed by any network that is not Cricket would make my intent dead obvious, but I modified the thread title anyway.

I did get some interesting info though... went to our local Cricket store and they had the Lumia 640 there where I could play with it.