Turn on Wifi Near Favorite Places

ttsoldier

Retired Ambassador
Dec 4, 2012
Visit site
I'm talking about when you turn off wifi , one of the option is to "turn on near favorite places" .

I'm not seeing this option on Lumia 640 Windows 10 10586. I did not check if it was there on 8.1 when I got the phone as I just upgraded instantly.

I has been there on my other 8.1 devices but this is my first time using 10. Location and cortana is on. So not sure what is up.

is this feature not available on Windows 10 as yet? Does anyone have this option on their 640?

Kevin Rush

Aug 11, 2010
Visit site
In Windows Phone 8.1, the first time you connect to an establishments Wi-Fi, there is a check box to connect automatically. I've never needed the feature to "Turn on near favorite places" (and didn't know it was an option). I run cellular service all the time until I am near one of the wi-fi locations I have set up. Then, when I check, it is on the WI-FI for that location. Seems like the feature "Turn on near favorite places" might not be needed. Maybe this is true for Windows Mobile 10?

Thoughts?

ttsoldier

Retired Ambassador
Dec 4, 2012
Visit site
In Windows Phone 8.1, the first time you connect to an establishments Wi-Fi, there is a check box to connect automatically. I've never needed the feature to "Turn on near favorite places" (and didn't know it was an option). I run cellular service all the time until I am near one of the wi-fi locations I have set up. Then, when I check, it is on the WI-FI for that location. Seems like the feature "Turn on near favorite places" might not be needed. Maybe this is true for Windows Mobile 10?

Thoughts?

What's happening there is your wifi is remaining on and connects when you reach another location. This is all well and good but also drains battery.