Hands-on Experiences with the 950XL

Waughy

Aug 24, 2014
Visit site
Re: My Experience with the 950 XL

Thank you for the explanation. I think that i can work with that set-up.:winktongue:

You'll like it, it's quite handy. I'm itching to get an XL and move over from my iPhone 6+. Wish I'd kept my 930 now. Hopefully the wait in Australia isn't too long.

hapishyguy

Nov 6, 2012
Visit site
I just preordered mine today Dual SIM 950 XL Black. Yes, dual SIM is available in US. I took the pictures too. RM-1116

Last edited:

tumahler

Mar 25, 2013
Visit site
I went to a nearby MS store to try out the 950XL. I have been using the 1520 for about 2 years and recently got a Note 5 because the battery was going on the 1520.

Some impressions:
- Device is light like everyone is reporting
- The edges are sharper than I expected. The buttons also have sharp edges. This doesn't bother me that much - it provides me a more reassuring grip.
- I put the phone through some processor heavy tasks. I loaded some heavy websites and I couldn't tell if the network was slow or if it was the browser but the sites were overall faster than the 1520 and rendered better as well. Core apps from MS like email and calendar loaded quickly. I tried switching between apps quickly and it handled well. There were some sluggish moments but that seemed to be because of the software / OS issues and not the hardware because the MS apps in general were very solid and quick.
- I played with the display scaling setting. By default it is at 350%. When I lowered it to 200% i noticed that the Calendar app scaled to show more content and additional views / features. Universal app scaling in action right on the phone!