Thoughts: My First Two Weeks with my 950 XL

Ryan Groom

Oct 23, 2013
Visit site
Disclaimer one: I owned a Nokia 900, Nokia 920, and Lumia 1020
Disclaimer Two: I am a dev so I own various Android, iOS and BlackBerry devices, so I have experience with them all.

I have had my Lumia 950 XL for two weeks+ now and wanted to just throw out there my personal experiences with the phone so far. This is not focused on the OS, mainly the hardware.

The first night I had the phone I was off to Scout Camp in eastern Canada. We stayed in tents for two nights and the weather was below freezing. I brought a few extra batteries to keep the phone charged. This is where Windows Hello really was great. It was raining or snowing and I could pull out the phone and look at it and presto. I did not have to take my gloves off for a finger print reader or PIN, I liked that.

The camera was great on the camp as I could take pictures fast, even around the campfire.

Most folks complain about the lack of apps, and sometimes being able to side load an Android APK would be fine but I use my phone more like a phone/email device. My core apps are Phone/Text/Email/Calendar/Facebook/Twitter/OnStar/Alarm.com/Camera/TimHortons/RBC are my main apps and the phone does that well. With an extra 128 MB SD card in it, lots of video and photos.

During the summer I film for a local TV show which I used my 1020 a ton, video I took from the 1020 has ended up on broadcast TV, looking forward to getting 950 XL footage on TV as well.

The three buttons on the side (volumes and power) I did not have an issue with and I like the virtual buttons at the bottom more than excepted. They disappear while in a full screen app and you can always slide up to get the menu, plus they still vibrate when tapped which I like the physical feedback. I know this feature is to make Windows 10 Mobile easier to port to an Android device, bonus.