With my prior Windows phones, I could use any piece of junk Micro USB cable with any piece of junk USB wall adapter. I am finding that is NOT the case with my 950 XL and USB-C cables.

My MS out of the box USB-C cable works with one of my USB wall adapters (5V 400 mAh out) but not my 5V 1000 mAh out wall adapter.

My generic USB-C cable works with the opposite. I also noticed when I attached the wall adapter, even if it's not plugged into the wall, I get the 'charging' icon and my phone vibrates. I understand USB-C is a totally different technology, but I was hoping to find a cheap adapter.

Long story short: can I actually do any damage by mixing and matching cables with wall adapters until I find one that charges? And: is there a 'good' wall adapter out there someone can recommend? I know the Aukey ones are pretty popular. I'm still learning a little about USB-C charging and the QC 2.0 charging as well.
    12-29-2015 05:10 PM
    I recommend you use the charger that came with the phone as that is the best for your phone.
    12-30-2015 01:41 AM
    12-30-2015 01:48 AM
    I recommend you use the charger that came with the phone as that is the best for your phone.
    Problem is, I like to charge my phone at work and while on vacation. I don't really want to unplug it every morning when headed to work.
    12-30-2015 09:43 AM
    Problem is, I like to charge my phone at work and while on vacation. I don't really want to unplug it every morning when headed to work.
    did you check the Amazon link I posted?
    12-30-2015 09:57 AM
    did you check the Amazon link I posted?
    I did, much appreciated and I will likely purchase it. I guess the next question is... what cable do I pair with it?
    12-30-2015 10:20 AM
    12-30-2015 11:24 AM
    Pulled the trigger on this one: Buy Ventev Wallport Q1200 Wall Charger with USB Type-C Cable - Microsoft Store

I had a $20 promo credit, so it was reasonably priced, especially considering it includes the cable.