I posted this in the bugs section but maybe it isn't actually a bug. I noticed my glance screen doesn't shift around the screen like it did on my previous amoled phones. Doesn't it need to in order to prevent burn in on these screens? I usually set my glance to always on but don't want to if it isn't working right. Does anybody leave theirs on and notice if it moves?
    11-22-2015 12:01 PM
    First, No it is not supposed to move. Not a bug.

Second, I could be wrong, but I believe what you will hear is this: It is not an LCD screen, it is an AMOLED screen. Screen burn-ins are a thing of the past.

The difference is that LEDs simply change color, so for burn-in to happen, the LEDs would all have to become physically stuck emitting only one color. I'm no expert, but I seriously doubt that is even possible. When an LED gets toasted, you end up with a dead pixel. (little red or green dots).
    11-22-2015 03:05 PM

Second, I could be wrong, but I believe what you will hear is this: It is not an LCD screen, it is an AMOLED screen. Screen burn-ins are a thing of the past.

The difference is that LEDs simply change color, so for burn-in to happen, the LEDs would all have to become physically stuck emitting only one color. I'm no expert, but I seriously doubt that is even possible. When an LED gets toasted, you end up with a dead pixel. (little red or green dots).
    Actually OLED screens are able to completely turn off each individual pixel. That's why blacks look so black. To display black on an LCD the backlight has to be on so blacks end up a dark shade of grey.
    11-22-2015 03:28 PM
    When oled sub pixels are aging, they become darker. If the glance screen won't move, the used sub pixels will age faster then the rest and maybe it will become visible after some time. Whether this effect is really significant on the low level of brightness used, I don't know.
    11-22-2015 04:59 PM