03-22-2016 03:19 PM
160 ... 567
tools
    It's just the cold hard facts of what's going on out MARKET-WIDE mate - not meant to be condescending at all. I'm a blunt writer and what I'm expressing is just a reality-check. Sadly for WP, it's not a positive situation.
    01-09-2016 05:08 AM
    It's just the cold hard facts of what's going on out MARKET-WIDE mate - not meant to be condescending at all. I'm a blunt writer and what I'm expressing is just a reality-check. Sadly for WP, it's not a positive situation.
    The hope is that it will turn around. That said, there was a thread over on CrackBerry (whose fans are in a much worse situation ATM!) in which an interesting article was posted about niche products and the "harbinger of failure":

CrackBerry - No New BB10 Devices What Are We Going To Do Guys. The article is linked in this post.

Are we doing a service by supporting the underdog when it seems almost nobody else will? Now I realize that the situation here is much brighter than it is for BlackBerry. They just announced that future BB devices will be running Android. Windows Phone has Microsoft behind it, a business with deep pockets. Profitability is not an issue for Microsoft like it is for BlackBerry.

There is room for niche products. The problem here is that the smartphone is not a niche product. They are not designed to be a low volume high profit device to cater to a very small subset of the market. An example of that would be something like a diamond plated device that sells for $20,000. Niche or not, a product needs to make a profit to remain relevant.

Either way, it is going to be fun to watch the developments in 2016. Hang on for the ride!
    01-09-2016 09:21 AM