Very Happy With my Lumia 950

KrisYYC

Oct 9, 2014
Visit site
Good evening all,

I'm writing this post to tell of my very positive experience with the Lumia 950. Lots of doom and gloom posts on here and I'm not in anyway trying to minimize any issues other users have had, but I have had almost none of the issues being reported. So I'm hoping this post will balance out a lot of the negativity on these forums about which in my opinion is an excellent device. I can't be the only one!

I bought my Lumia 950 Dual Sim direct from the Microsoft store here in Calgary, AB almost a month ago to the day. I had been using a Galaxy Note 4 for several months, and while it was a great phone. I still found myself missing Windows Phone (previous to the Note 4 I had a Lumia 1020).

Once home and new nano-sim installed, I powered the device up and was impressed with the look of Windows 10 mobile. It has the deep blacks and style that I loved with Windows mobile 8.1 on my 1020 but with even more sexy UI enhancements.

I did NOT do a restore from my Lumia 1020, this was a clean set up (I have a feeling a restore from an old device may have been the cause of some problems people have been having). The only thing I copied was contacts. I logged into my Microsoft account and it remembered stuff from my 1020 like app and music purchases which was nice. In particular it remembered my carrier info from my 1020 (carrier branded). So even though this is an unlocked device I can still purchase music and apps by simply adding it to my monthly cell phone bill rather than setting up a credit card. I like that and I don't think the other OS' offer anything similar.

Once I had the phone set up, it really hit me how much I missed windows mobile UI and look. To me it just downright looks way better than iOS or Android (I've used them all). Transparent live tiles and the deep blacks etc. really do it for me.

Apps: