Is it possible to setup a RS232 connection over the USB-C connection on a Lumina 950?
    01-21-2016 04:49 AM
    Is it possible to setup a RS232 connection over the USB-C connection on a Lumina 950?
    I found this app which is not on the Windows Store so entirely up to you if you wish to see if it works for you. There appears to be other apps as well along the same lines. Not sure if any of them support USB C and I haven't seen a RS232 to USB C converter anywhere. That would mean using a RS232 to USB and then a USB to USB C converter. Sounds like fun.

App Serial Communication RS232 APK for Windows Phone | Download Android APK GAMES & APPS for Windows phone

I take it you're doing some sort of project that requires RS 232. I often wonder why such a old protocol sticks around...
    Guytronic and aximtreo like this.
    01-21-2016 06:31 AM
    I'm a service technician for a brand of CNC machinery that uses FANUC CONTROLLERS. One of the most common methods of communication is using a RS232 connection. Over the years I've used paper tape reader/punch, Psion Organiser, PC, laptops. A mobile phone would be a far better option for me as its something I could carry in my pocket.
    05-28-2016 05:37 AM
    I would doubt there were drivers to allow the USB-232 converters to run on a

A small tablet running full fat W10 would be one option, or possibly Bluetooth? Network Serial Devices - Bluetooth - Brainboxes - Industrial Ethernet IO and Serial
    05-28-2016 06:00 AM
    First time I have seen or heard this term in many many years. If you find a way yo make it work, more power to you.
    05-28-2016 08:25 AM
    figured I'd try, since I am at work, have a usb to serial adapter AND a usb c to usb adapter...

unfortunately, i don't have a device to plug it into to test, but the phone says that "the usb device might not work, try it on a pc instead" once it's plugged in. we normally use serial connections for programming network switches.
    05-28-2016 01:33 PM