Best Cell Phone Camera?

BajanSaint69

Jun 30, 2017
Visit site
The reason I bought first the Lumia 1020 and then the 950xl was after looking at the cameras. (I'm a professional photographer) My phone is my walk around camera. I'm contemplating my future phone (right now long live my 950xl) I want a camera that gives me the level of control of exposure the Lumia's cameras have and it must shoot DNG files. I don't want a "push here and the phone will do the rest" camera as in the IPhone.

What handset has the best camera out there?

BajanSaint69

Jun 30, 2017
Visit site
Thing is this is kind of my problem, these surveys are all about snapshots. Jpegs, straight out of camera. What I'm looking for is performance in shooting DNG's with dynamic range that can be edited. My 950xl is a walk around camera that's an alternate to my Nikon D800.

I'm interested in what does the phone capture in it's raw file that allows me to produce something after post production. So we are talking about dynamic range, image noise, colour range, what the Jpeg looks like SOOC is nice but not the final determining factor.

Scienceguy Labs

Jun 13, 2012
Visit site
I'm starting to hear rumblings about the Mate 10 Pro's camera abilities. Flossy was definitely impressed. His point and shoot pics of his cat were quite impressive.

Scienceguy Labs

Jun 13, 2012
Visit site
c0e2685ac8a11e0a7c156358431748d5.jpg

A screenshot, but not bad.

tgp

Dec 1, 2012
Visit site
There's one thing we can glean from all the different outcomes of camera tests: they're all very good. Probably the biggest variation is caused by personal preference.

RumoredNow

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site