Best Cell Phone Camera?

DJCBS

Nov 19, 2012
Visit site
The reason I bought first the Lumia 1020 and then the 950xl was after looking at the cameras. (I'm a professional photographer) My phone is my walk around camera. I'm contemplating my future phone (right now long live my 950xl) I want a camera that gives me the level of control of exposure the Lumia's cameras have and it must shoot DNG files. I don't want a "push here and the phone will do the rest" camera as in the IPhone.

What handset has the best camera out there?

The answer to this is actually really simple: you want the LG V30.

It's the best camera currently on the market for anyone who knows anything about photography. Galaxy cameras also give you good options but the manual controls on the V30 are much better.

DJCBS

Nov 19, 2012
Visit site
Zeiss is back in town on the new Nokia Androids (Nokia 8)

The Nokia 8 only has Zeiss lenses. It does NOT have any Nokia imaging patents in it nor any Zeiss optimisations. The camera is actually utter crap.

As @Laura Knotek observed, the Pixel 2 XL will likely be a fit

Or not. He clearly stated it didn't want a point and shoot. Which is exactly what the iPixels are. No manual controls on them at all.

Another point to consider is that HDR+ apk has been floating around as a hack that can be added to phones with Snapdragon 820, 821 or 835 chips.

It can be added to a lot more phones. For example, the Nokia 5 has the SD430 and the app runs on it. The Xperia XZ1 Compact has the 835 and it doesn't. Why? Because the first has Google's camera2api enabled and on the Xperia, Sony blocked RAW support which means the camera can't use the photos.

More research into "what phones capture RAW" might also help you narrow the field.

Fortunately, most high end devices on Android enabled the camera2api with Android 5.0 Lollipop. Which means all of them support RAW. The only high end phone I've seen that doesn't are Sony's Xperia phones (because Sony is arrogant AF).

Sachin A