Best Cell Phone Camera?

drizo72

Jun 18, 2015
Visit site
The reason I bought first the Lumia 1020 and then the 950xl was after looking at the cameras. (I'm a professional photographer) My phone is my walk around camera. I'm contemplating my future phone (right now long live my 950xl) I want a camera that gives me the level of control of exposure the Lumia's cameras have and it must shoot DNG files. I don't want a "push here and the phone will do the rest" camera as in the IPhone.

What handset has the best camera out there?

None. The only one was Panasonic Lumix CM1 with 1" sensor size but has been discontinued. The successor CM10 is just a camera without GSM capabilities.

The sensor size of all these new phones is ridiculous. They are all gimmicks. Tried everything and I can tell you will be fed up by the poor details, artificial bokeh (uhh) and lousy algorithms for color, sharpness and denoise.

If you plan to showcase any of your work on social media, a 12MP phone will give you the best results given the sensors they use. If you plan to make prints or posters, there is no replacement to what you have.

I am on the same boat with you...

Sin Ogaris

Oct 13, 2013
Visit site
I went from the Lumia 950 XL to the Pixel 2 XL, and the image quality is much improved, so I would recommend it (my biggest issue with the 950 was poor low light photography, as someone who would use it to snap pics of bands it wasn't up to scratch). I assume there are Android camera apps that allow DNG file saving, there's pretty much an Android app for everything.

Actually the vast majority of camera phones in the flagships now are better than the Lumia 950, mostly in low light, which the 950 really struggled.

Last edited by a moderator:

sd4f

Feb 8, 2013
Visit site