The Nokia Acquisition (post comments and questions here)

Rohan Vg

Jul 30, 2013
Visit site
Microsoft bought Skype for $8.5bn and Nokia D&S for $7.2bn

Can someone explain why Nokia D&S cost them less than Skype? :shocked:

Loco5150

Oct 9, 2012
Visit site
Its actually less, that price includes the licensing fees for Nokia patents that MS can use.

I dont know the exact details inside Nokia D&S, Im not an expert, but its pretty obious that the situation for Nokias devices does not look very bright. Atm its loosing money, and there are no guarantees that it will ever again make money.

Most likely the dumb phones are also on a freefall, and Lumia is not rising fast enough.

wizzackr

Apr 15, 2012
Visit site
I wonder if this is a good point to sell off the stock I own... not because I don't believe in the platform or anything along those lines. Just a good point to cash in?

miodrage

Feb 16, 2013
Visit site
Personally, I saw this coming a few years ago, when Elop became CEO of Nokia. After that, the company's value began to drop. Now, Microsoft took them for a meesly 7.2 billion, and just 4 yrs ago, it was a several times bigger amount. So, this proves that MS is counting long-term.
Now, acquiring all of Nokia pattents, makes Microsoft a really big player on the scene. If some of u remember, just when L920 was introduced, we had some rumours about a Surface phone. We might just see that, but with Nokia branding and design. For me personally, this is a good thing for us end-customers. Hopefully, MS will now speed up the updates, and start to manufacture some quality phones, phablets and tablets, with which it will cut that big fat belly of Google's open, and let it rot to it's death.